Women in CAS (WiCAS) Session

Date: Monday, May 25
Time: 19:00-20:00
Place: Pavilhão das Galeotas, Lisbon Maritime Museum (across the street from the conference venue)

Helena Sarmento, INESC-ID/IST, Universidade de Lisboa
Pamela Abshire, University of Maryland, USA
Yoko Uwate, Tokushima University, Japan

The WiCAS Organising Committee invites ISCAS delegates to attend the Women in Circuits and Systems (WiCAS) keynote address, with a canapé and cocktail reception at «Pavilhão das Galeotas» (Barge Pavillion), Lisbon Maritime Museum. The keynote speech is given by Prof. Maria da Graça Carvalho. The event takes place following the sessions and the PhD/YPP event on Monday 25th May. The Lisbon Maritime Museum is next to the conference venue and it has an interesting selection of river boats and barges that presents the maritime history of the region. This event has been made possible with generous support from the 2015 Outreach Initiative of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society.

Maria da Graça CarvalhoMaria da Graça Carvalho – Born in 1955. Graduated Mechanical Engineer at IST, Technical University of Lisbon. Ph.D. at the Imperial College in London in the area of energy intensive industries. Full Professor at Technical University of Lisbon in the areas of energy and climate change. Fellow of: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics; American Association for the Advancement of Science; World Academy of Art and Science; and Portuguese Academy of Sciences. Former Minister of Science and Higher Education and former Minister of Science, Innovation and Higher Education. Senior Adviser for Research; Science and Innovation EU commission. Former Principal Adviser to BEPA, a Department of the EC reporting directly to the President. Member of the National Council of Education and Member of the National Council of Environment and Sustainable Development. Decorated with “Great Official of the Order of Public Instruction” – Portugal, “High Honour of the Great Cross”-Brazil. Int. scientific publ.: 415 articles. Author of 2 books, editor of 14 books. MEP since 2009